☰ Menu
News & Events

Specialist & Instructor: How to Choose Your Level of IPC Certification

Tue, Nov 22, 2022 at 6:45PM

Specialist & Instructor: How to Choose Your Level of IPC Certification

Quality and consistency are everything in the electronics manufacturing and soldering industry. As the field of electronics progresses and becomes more advanced, the manufacturing, connections, and assembly of products become more intricate.

That progression is precisely why standardization is critical to producing high-quality products that meet consumer standards.

Some electronic products are for entertainment and others enhance convenience. Still others can mean the difference between life and death. Therefore, there is no room for error when it comes to soldering products that must always work.

IPC Certification Levels

IPC certification represents a professional’s education, skills, experience, and ability up to the highest level of expertise. There are different levels of certification, two of which are the Certified IPC Specialist and the Certified IPC Trainer.

If you’re not sure which certification is right for you, the best place to start is to make sure you understand what each of the certifications is.

The Certified IPC Specialist (CISs): Masters of Standards

The Certified IPC Specialist Certification is for professionals who want to expand their ability, skills, and knowledge in regard to one specific standard.

In other words, experts who hold this certification have mastered a deep understanding of the production and design criteria within a particular standard. Therefore, they are deemed to be specialists in whatever that standard is.

The Certified IPC Trainers (CITs): Instructors of Technical Courses

Professionals who are CITs are authorized to train others as CISs and CITs at their respective companies. This includes faculty members of institutions that certify students as part of their curriculum. It also includes employees who have not yet met the criteria for earning the Master IPC Trainer (MIT) Certification.

Experts who have earned their IPC trainer certification can teach CIS technical courses and give the corresponding certification exams to others who are working toward IPC certification.

How to Choose Your IPC Certification

Basically, there are CISs (the standard specialists) and CITs (the trainers), and the difference between them is that the CITs are authorized to teach certification classes to would-be CITs and CISs.

Therefore, you’ll need to become a Certified IPC Specialist before you work toward earning your Certified IPC Trainer certification.

CIS certification is appropriate for professionals who need a consistent understanding of standard criteria. These include:

  • Quality engineers
  • Line operators
  • General engineers
  • Supervisors

Trainers are generally employees who train within their parent company, but they can also be independent consultants who work with many different companies. Examinations must be taken and passed for both types of certifications, and CITs may be observed during class instruction periodically by a staff member of IPC.

IPC certification delivers recognition of your knowledge and skill to your coworkers, your company, and yourself.

Bookmark & Share

User Comments

Be the first to comment on this post below!

Add A Comment